Its in his Blood Shawn Mendes Wins Big at THE 2018 IHEARTRADIO

first_img Twitter LEAVE A REPLY Cancel replyLog in to leave a comment TORONTO – Rising superstar Awkwafina electrified the corner of Queen and John Streets in Torontotonight in her broadcast hosting debut at THE 2018 IHEARTRADIO MMVAS. During the two-hour broadcast, hometown hero Shawn Mendes charmed fans with two stellar performances and four big wins – Artist of the Year, Best Pop Artist or Group, Fan Fave Artist, and Fan Fave Video (“In My Blood”). Toronto’s own Drake added two more IHEARTRADIO MMVAS to his hardware collection for Best Hip Hop Artist or Group and Best Director with Karena Evans for “God’s Plan”, while London, ON-bred DJs Loud Luxury claimed the Song of the Summer Presented by Coca-Cola award for “Body” ft. Brando. Ottawa’s Elijah Woods x Jamie Fine, featured on the first season of CTV’s THE LAUNCH, took home Best New Canadian Artist for their hit “Ain’t Easy,” while Brampton’s Alessia Cara locked down Video of the Year for her and Khalid’s collaboration on Logic’s song “1-800-273-8255”.Many performers made their debut on the THE 2018 IHEARTRADIO MMVASstage including bülow, lighting up the audience with glow-in-the-dark LED masks during a performance of “Not A Love Song”; Kris Wu, performing a smoking-hot medley of his hit singles, “18,” “Like That,” and “Deserve”; Canadian indie rock band, The Beaches, who captivated the audience with “T-Shirt”; Halsey, winner tonight of the Artist for Change, stunning viewers at home with animated effects that had flames and butterflies dancing around her; Anne-Marie, performing “2002,” before being joined on-stage by Marshmello to perform their up-beat pop single “FRIENDS,” which helped snag Marshmello an IHEARTRADIO MMVA for Best EDM/Dance Artist or Group; Meghan Trainor rocking a four-song medley of “No Excuses,” “All About That Bass,” “Me Too,” and “Let You Be Right”; and Brett Kissel, making IHEARTRADIO MMVA history as the first country singer to perform on the MMVA stage when he joined Bebe Rexha on smash hit “Meant To Be,” which earned Bebe Rexha and Florida Georgia Line a win for Best Collaboration. Finally, 98 Degrees graced the audience with a classic throwback medley of their top hits as they returned to THE IHEARTRADIO MMVA stage after nearly a decade.The show hit big in the Twitterverse today with 1.3 million mentions, reaching more than 1.5 billion worldwide, and with #iHeartRadioMMVAs holding the top trend in Canada during the broadcast. Host Awkwafina summed up her boisterous turn as host by tweeting a photo of one of the night’s best moments: Shawn Mendes accepting an award on behalf of Marshmello – helmet and all! Marshmello also tweeted about the moment, joking that the two were now a duo. In the weeks leading up to the show, fans turned out to vote for their favourites with more than 46 million votes cast across six Fan Fave categories online and on social. Advertisement Advertisement Facebook The IHEARTRADIO MMVA hardware was handed out by star-studded celebrities including, Alexandra Shipp,  Ashlee Simpson-Ross and Evan Ross,Chrissy Metz, Colton Haynes, Craig McMorris, Derek Hough, Francesco Yates,Gus Kenworthy, Jenni “JWOWW” Farley, Jus Reign, Kristin Cavallari, Madison Beer, New City, Prince Michael Jackson, Scott Helman, Sofi Tukker, Sonequa Martin-Green, The Reklaws, Tyler Shaw, and Tyra Banks.IHEARTRADIO MMVA AftermathThe two-hour music extravaganza, which aired live on CTV, Much, MTV, and YouTube, encores tomorrow, Monday, August 27 at 2 p.m. and 5 p.m. ET and Friday, August 31 at 10 p.m. on Much.ETALK recaps all of the red carpet arrivals and delivers exclusive backstage interviews tomorrow night at 7 p.m. ET on CTV.The entire two-hour broadcast, as well as THE 2018 IHEARTRADIO MMVA RED CARPET, is available now at 2018 IHEARTRADIO MMVAS joins CraveTV’s music collection on Friday, August 31.And the winners are…iHeartRadio MMVA Artist for ChangeHalseyBest Rock/Alternative Artist or GroupImagine DragonsBest Pop Artist or GroupShawn MendesBest EDM/Dance Artist or GroupMarshmelloBest Hip Hop Artist or GroupDrakeBest DirectorDrake – “God’s Plan”Director: Karena EvansVideo of the YearLogic ft. Alessia Cara and Khalid – “1-800-273-8255”Single of the YearEd Sheeran – “Perfect”Artist of the YearShawn MendesSong of the Summer Presented by Coca-ColaLoud Luxury ft. Brando – “Body”Best CollaborationBebe Rexha & Florida Georgia Line – “Meant To Be”Best New Canadian Artist or GroupElijah Woods x Jamie FineFan Fave ArtistShawn MendesFan Fave Duo or GroupBTSFan Fave VideoShawn Mendes – “In My Blood”Fan Fave SingleSelena Gomez ft. Marshmello – ‘Wolves’Fan Fave New ArtistKris WuFan Fave Much CreatorTheDanocracy – Dan RodoOfficial partners of THE 2018 IHEARTRADIO MMVAS are: Coca-Cola®, Nintendo of Canada Ltd., and Virgin Mobile Canada. Login/Register With: Advertisementlast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *