Bad drop leaves Wie disqualified

first_img “I don’t feel like I cheated,” Wie said, her voice choked with emotion nearly two hours after she walked off the 18th green with a respectable fourth-place finish and her head held high. It was a rude welcome less than two weeks after the 16-year-old phenom from Hawaii turned pro. AD Quality Auto 360p 720p 1080p Top articles1/5READ MOREWalnut’s Malik Khouzam voted Southern California Boys Athlete of the Week First, she was helpless watching Annika Sorenstam send an emphatic statement with an eight-shot victory to clinch the LPGA Tour money title and her eighth LPGA Player of the Year award. Then, no sooner had Wie finished her round at 74 – she would have earned $53,126 – when she was escorted by two rules officials to the par-5 seventh hole at Bighorn Golf Club to show them her drop from a desert bush the day before. Nearly two hours later, she was disqualified for signing an incorrect scorecard. Because she dropped the ball closer to the hole – by three inches according to her, by about a foot according to the rules officials – she should have added two strokes to her third-round 71. “I learned a great lesson,” Wie said. “From now on, I’ll call a rules official no matter where it is, whether its three inches or 100 yards. I respect that.” Michelle Wie was expecting her first paycheck. She wound up in a rules dispute that got her disqualified Sunday from the Samsung World Championship at Palm Desert for taking a bad drop, making a splash in her professional debut for all the wrong reasons. center_img This isn’t the way Wie wanted to start her professional career. “I’m pretty sad but, you know, I think I’m going to get over it,” she said. She wound up stealing all the attention from Sorenstam, who thrived off the attention heaped on Wie by turning in one of her most dominant performances this year. Sorenstam started with a four-shot lead over Gloria Park, built her lead to nine shots at the turn and led by as many as 10 shots until hitting into the desert and making double bogey on the last hole for a 3-under 69. Short comes up big: Wes Short Jr. hit his bunker shot within a foot of the pin, then tapped in for a par on the second hole of a playoff with Jim Furyk to win the Michelin Championship at Las Vegas for his first PGA Tour title. Furyk, trying for his fourth Las Vegas victory, three-putted No. 18 for a bogey in regulation, giving Short a chance to catch him. McNulty gets second title: Mark McNulty won his second Champions Tour title of the year, closing with a 6-under 66 for a one-stroke victory over Gil Morgan in the Administaff Small Business Classic at Spring, Texas. McNulty, the longtime European tour player from Zimbabwe, had a 16-under 200 total on the Augusta Pines course. He birdied two of the last three holes and also had two eagles in the final round. Jacquelin wins: France’s Raphael Jacquelin won the Madrid Open at Madrid, Spain, for his first European tour title, closing with a 2-under 69 for a three-shot victory over 1999 British Open champion Paul Lawrie. 160Want local news?Sign up for the Localist and stay informed Something went wrong. Please try again.subscribeCongratulations! You’re all set!last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *